Most Recent
Filter by tag
Optus new sponsor of IT Journalism Awards

​Optus is the new naming rights sponsor of the IT Journalism Awards, with entries now open for the 13th annual awards.

The Optus IT Journalism Awards evening will be held on Friday, May 9 at the Crystal Palace, Luna Park in Sydney. Nominations for the awards, affectionately also known as ‘The Lizzies’, are open now and close on March 21, 2014.

Entries can be submitted at the Lizzies website under Enter the Awards:

David Epstein, VP corporate and regulatory affairs at Optus, said that the telecommunications company is “proud to be associated with recognising the valuable work of Australia’s ICT journalist community, and welcomes the opportunity as naming rights sponsor of these very important awards”.

“Technology touches every aspect of our lives and the Australian ICT media are recognised thought leaders in this area – providing valuable commentary, analysis and reporting on how and where it will impact consumers and business alike.”

This year’s awards, which recognise journalism and media created and published in the calendar year of 2013, will include all 20 journalism and media categories awarded last year, plus the popular Best Media Relations award. Additionally, Optus will present an ICT Analyst of the Year award for the first time at this year’s awards, at a special pre-dinner cocktail event.

“For the past 12 years, the IT Journo awards have been the industry’s most prominent, but this year we’re also recognising the important contribution of industry analysts. They play a crucial role providing in-depth commentary and analysis on technology trends and industry direction. We’re pleased to announce the inaugural Optus ICT Analyst of the Year award,” Gill said

Tickets for the event will go on sale shortly, with nearly 350 journalists, PR professionals and IT industry executives attending last year’s awards.

This year’s awards will recognise journalists and media in the following categories:

  1. Best Title

  2. Best Journalist

  3. Best Magazine

  4. Best Website

  5. Best Audio Program

  6. Best Video Program

  7. Best News Coverage

  8. Best News Journalist

  9. Best Business Tech Coverage

  10. Best Business Tech Journalist

  11. Best Tech Industry Journalist

  12. Best Personal Tech Coverage

  13. Best Consumer Tech Journalist

  14. Best Telco Journalist

  15. Best Gaming Coverage

  16. Best Gaming Journalist

  17. Best Columnist

  18. Best Reviewer

  19. Best New Journalist

  20. Best Technical Journalist

  21. Best Independent Coverage

  22. Best Media Relations